Sahel Road Safety Initiative (2018-2021)

Roadmaps to Security in the Sahel

The Sahel—comprised of Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, and Senegal—faces complex security challenges that are both confined to and transcend nation-state boundaries. Some of the most significant concerns of citizens from the Sahel relate to the lack of accountable and transparent processes in the security sector, insufficient provision of basic security needs, and limited access to justice.

For three years, the Roadmaps to Security in Senegal and Burkina Faso initiative supported the ability of law enforcement in Senegal and Burkina Faso to improve public perceptions of law enforcement integrity and effectiveness. The program was implemented in partnership with Partners West Africa – Senegal and Burkinabe organization FOSEC. By focusing on traffic corruption and mismanagement of road safety, two key drivers of citizen distrust of government , the program adopted inclusive and collaborative approaches to working with citizens and public safety stakeholders that resulted in greater trust in law enforcement, understanding of road safety laws, and innovative solutions to security challenges. Check out the video series below to learn more about the lasting impacts of the program.